Vegetarian Free From at McDonalds UK

So…your friends / children / relatives / dogsitter wants to meet at Mcdonalds; “Great” you say…then as you put your phone down you’re met with that thought common to all following special diets – “ahhhhh what can I eat???”

As you may suspect; sadly the UK Mcdonald’s-braving-vegetarian of 2015 hasn’t the widest choice beneath the golden arches. McDonald’s site informs readers that although their fries are perfectly free from gluten, dairy and animal products, their bread rolls all have milk and gluten in them. McDonald’s wraps are dairy free but not gluten free.

Burger wise you have two variations on the one ‘burger’ patty and that’s what we will be focusing on…

The Spicy Veggie Patty.

Ingredients on the McDonalds site:
EITHER: Chickpeas (31%), Batter (Rice Flour, Maize Flour, Maize Starch, Potato Starch, Stabiliser (Xanthan Gum)), Breadcrumb (Rice Flour, Gram Flour, Maize Starch, Dextrose), Onion (10%), Yellow Split Peas (7%), Potatoes (7%), Vegetable Oil (Sunflower, Rapeseed), Water, Dehydrated Potato, Herbs & Spices (Cumin, Coriander, Garlic, Garlic Powder), Sugar, Salt. 
OR: Chickpeas (30%), Breadcrumbs (Rice Flour, Gram Flour, Maize Starch, Salt, Rapeseed Oil, Emulsifier (Mono- and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids), Dextrose), Onion (11%), Water, Yellow Split Peas (8%), Potato (7%), Sunflower Oil, Dehydrated Potato, Maize Flour, Maize Starch, Rapeseed Oil, Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Cumin, Sugar, Salt, Coriander Leaf, Garlic Powder, Garlic Puree, Stabiliser (Xanthan Gum), Colour (Paprika Extract). 
Prepared in the restaurants using a non-hydrogenated vegetable oil.

What the savvy freefrom reader will notice is not only is this patty (err…both of them) free from dairy & meat, but also from egg and gluten! Well paint me surprised and pass the chilli sauce!

McDonalds actually state on their site:

“The Veggie Patty on its own without the bun has no gluten containing ingredients and is cooked in a separate fryer away from other ingredients containing gluten.

We work closely with Coeliac UK who are aware of all the procedures we have in place to avoid cross contamination in our restaurants. You can find the allergen information and ingredient declarations for all of our UK menu items in the Allergen Booklet available in-store and on the food section of our website.”

This is obviously fantastic news and I’ll admit I’m actually genuinely really amused by the fact that McDonald’s have answered calls for a:
Vegan burger
Vegetarian burger
Dairy free burger
Gluten free burger
By creating a “cover it all” burger.

But what is it like?
Looks like:


Smells like:
Fried stuff.

Tastes like:
The outer case is crispy and clean
The inside is a soft, chickpea and potato mush…wait a sec…it’s a fried falafel!
The patty is described as ‘lightly spiced’ but the cumin, coriander and garlic serve only to add a savoury tinge rather than any sense of heat.


You’ve got one burger option
It’s pretty boring.
But edible.

My advice:
Choose wraps over rolls.
Buy a separate tub of chilli dip…
…apply chilli dip liberally to everything.

Finally: Ask in store if you need any dietary info confirmed.

You may also be interested in:
Is Hartley’s Jelly Vegan / Vegetarian / Dairy Free?
Are Oreos Vegan / Vegetarian / dairy free?

No Moo, No Sick – Dairy Free Reviews

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Free From at McDonalds UK

  1. this is actually really useful, plus it made me giggle 🙂 nice one


  2. Marion evans says:

    Can you get dairy free coffee at mc donalds. I have seen how cows suffer when their calves are taken away and I want an alternative to dairy milk.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: