Naked Noodles Chinese Chow Mein Review

Today I am reviewing:

image

Naked Noodle Chinese Chow Mein.

Spotted these whilst doing my shopping and was delighted to see that they were vegetarian (I believe all Naked Noodles are; even their ‘meaty’ flavours).

I’m not a huge fan of potted noodlage; however as a professional driver my husband holds any “just add a kettle” snack with adoration. This will be a joint review.

What is it?
Dried egg noodles and sauce
Just add hot water
…and a fork

Ingredients:
Dried Egg Noodles (71%) [Durum Wheat Semolina, Egg], Potato Starch, Flavourings (contain Barley,Celery), Maltodextrin, Dried Carrot (2.3%), Garlic Powder, Sugar, Soy Sauce Powder [Water, SoyaBeans, Wheat, Salt], Dried Spring Onion (1.3%), Dried Green Beans (1%), Colour (Plain Caramel), Onion Powder, Chinese Five Spice [Salt, Star Anise, Sugar, Onion Powder, Black Pepper, Cinnamon, Clove, Fennel Seed, Ginger, Garlic], Mushroom Powder, Ground Ginger, Citric Acid, Palm Oil, Barley Malt Vinegar Powder.

Freefrom:
Dairy
Meat
Honey
Coconut

Thus suitable for:
Vegetarians
Allergy/intolerance sufferers

Looks like:

image

We both thought there was quite a good supply of vegetables mixed in with the Noodles.
Noodles were short enough to ensure your favourite top doesn’t acquire any new chow mein coloured patterns.

You should make sure you ensure good stirrage throughout the pot or you may develop a dry, crunchy bottom. And nobody likes that.

Smells like:
I didn’t think it had much smell, but there was a vaguely savoury something.

My husband said he could smell the Chinese five spice and thought this was an improvement on other potted chow mein noodles he had tried.

Tastes like:
Again we differ here.
I thought this Naked Noodle pot was pleasant enough; however I was seeking a variation in flavour that I just couldn’t find. Guiltily I admit I even hunted in vain throughout my tub for a little sachet of extra sauce. I’d like to publicly apologise to my pallette for the years of high salt abuse that led to this embarrassing incident.

Mr Moosick however thought his Naked Noodle pot was “good stuff” and was impressed enough to google what other flavours he could scoff next.

We both enjoyed the texture of the noodles and the distribution of vegetables.

Price:
£1.19 each or 2 for £1.80 this week at Tesco.

Conclusion:
I probably wouldn’t buy this flavour again however I like the idea of these little tubs and would like to try one of the other flavours.

3.5 out of 5

My husband on the other hand has driven off this morning with another Chow Mein Naked Noodle in his lunch bag and a spring(onion) in his step. What more could he want?

4.5 out of 5

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

