Covent Garden Slow Roast Tomato Soup

Today I am reviewing

image

New Covent Garden Slow Roast Tomato Soup.
I’m not sure why soup makers feel the need to repeatedly marry tomato with dairy but there definitely seems to be some unwritten rule that tomato needs softening with cow based produce. I was surprised that this soup contained no dairy and also cost only £1. Thus I broke my “no ‘posh’ fresh soup” ban.

What is it?
Roast tomato based soup with basil and balsamic vinegar
Found in the refrigerated aisle

Ingredients:

image

Free from:
Dairy
Gluten
Egg
Soya
Meat
Honey
Gelatine

Thus suitable for:
Coeliacs
Vegans
Vegetarians
Allergy/intolerance sufferers

Looks like:
Red, tomato soup
Medium thickness
Visible herbs and onion

image

Smells like:
Vinegary tomatoes
Bit garliccy

Feels like:
Medium consistency
You can feel the herbs and onion bits

Tastes like:
It’s nice
Strong tomato taste
The vinegar enhances the flavour without making it tangy and sharp
Does unfortunately linger slightly garliccy in mouth after eating for quite a while

Price:
£1 in Tesco but I have seen it upwards of £2.50!

image

Conclusion:
This was nice and it was lovely to find a non dairy-containing tomato soup, I would probably buy this soup again. However because of the lingering after taste and also the fact it badly stained everything it touched I probably wouldn’t pay over £1 for it.

3/5 – nice but my bowls may never be the same colour ever again.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Covent Garden Slow Roast Tomato Soup

  1. pinkiebag says:

    Oh I am going to have to try this one, I’ve previously liked their tomato and basil soup. I agree with your comment about the addition of milk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

