Achva Vanilla Flavored Sesame Halva

Today I am reviewing

image

Achva halva

Vanilla Flavored Sesame Halva.
Having never tried halva before, nor really knowing what it was I’m not 100% sure why I picked up this little tub in the world food section of Tesco, but upon discovering it met my dietary requirements I bought it.

What is it?
A sweet desserty confectionary
Made from sesame paste (tahini?)
Wikipedia says this type of Halva is popular in Poland and the Middle East.

Ingredients:
Sesame Seeds, Glucose, Syrup,Sugar,Vegetable Fat (Palm), Natural Spice-Saponariae Root, Natural Vanilla.

Free from:
Dairy
Gluten
Wheat
Egg
Honey
Gelatine
Soya

Thus suitable for:
Coeliacs
Vegetarians
Vegans
Allergy/intolerance sufferers

Packaging:
A plastic tub
Kosher / Parve stamps.
No free from list

image

Achva halva

Looks like:
Cream coloured
Bit like crystallized tofu!
When you break the halva it cleaves into a fibrous ‘loft insulation’ looking nougatine fluffiness

image

Achva halva

Smells like:
Vanilla nougat

Feels like:
Exactly how it looks
I’ve never felt anything like halva

Tastes like:
Again I’ve never tasted anything like halva
Its sort of nougatty but much lighter
Sort of nutty
Sort of like hardened candy floss

Price:
£2 in Tesco

Conclusion:
I don’t know whether this is a good example of halva but I can say I really enjoyed it and urge anybody else to try it. Its naturally free from loads of stuff and is a very unique texture and taste.
I’d definitely buy halva again.

4/5 – a very positive experience of a never tried before product.

No Moo, No Sick!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Achva Vanilla Flavored Sesame Halva

  1. Mohamed says:

    Dear sir

    I want ask for the halva
    Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

