Are Hartley’s Jellies Vegetarian / Vegan ? Err… some of them.

Thought I’d end this debate which rages through vegetarian and vegan communities every so often.

Are Hartley’s Jellies Vegan / Vegetarian ?

image

So I sent an email to their customer care team and received this polite and informative reply:

(I have highlighted the main points).

_________________
_________________
Dear Bex

Thank you for contacting Hartley’s about our jelly range. Currently none of our jellies contain dairy.

Most of our jellies are not suitable for vegetarians. Our tablet and powdered jellies, designed to be made at home, contain gelatine. Some of our Ready to Eat jellies contain the colouring Carmine, which is an animal product.
The jellies we have which are suitable for vegetarians are:

Hartley’s Pineapple in Jelly 175g
Hartley’s 10 Cal Mango & Passion Fruit Flavour Jelly 175g
Hartley’s 10 Cal Blueberry & Blackcurrant Flavour Jelly 175g
Hartley’s 10 Cal Raspberry Flavour Jelly 175g
Hartley’s 1 Fruit Portion Mango Jelly 175g
Hartley’s Blackcurrant Flavour Jelly 125g
Hartley’s Lemon & Lime Flavour Jelly 125g
Hartley’s Pineapple Flavour Jelly 125g
Hartley’s No Added Sugar Jelly Blackcurrant Flavour 115g
Hartley’s No Added Sugar Jelly Apple Flavour 115g

I hope that this information helps. If you would like to discuss your concerns, or have any questions, please call me or one of my colleagues on 0800 022 4339. We are available between 9.00am and 5.30pm, weekdays excluding Bank Holidays.
Yours sincerely

Joe
Consumer Care Advisor

_________________
_________________

I am very pleased with the reply although I think here the term vegetarian/vegan is assumed to be interchangeable.

I hope this can be of some use to anybody who is curious or concerned.

Jelly pictured is NOT suitable for vegetarians / vegans but is clearly marked gluten-free.

image

General advice seems to be stay away from red coloured jellies. See red, think stop!

image

You may also like:
Are Oreos Vegan / Dairy free / Vegetarian?

No Moo, No Sick!

Advertisements
Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Are Hartley’s Jellies Vegetarian / Vegan ? Err… some of them.

  1. […] our ever-popular Is Hartley’s Jelly Vegan? post today we are asking “Are Oreos Dairy Free / Vegan / […]

    Like

  2. […] may also be interested in: Is Hartley’s Jelly Vegan / Vegetarian / Dairy Free? Are Oreos Vegan / Vegetarian / dairy […]

    Like

  3. Thanks for posting this! I keep meaning to email them as all their vegetarian jelly pots used to be clearly marked with a v symbol but it disappeared a year or so ago. I suspected it was just carmine but always a bit cautious when they actively remove vegetarian labelling!

    Like

    • donna marsh says:

      I read somewhere that they had removed the v symbol as being veggie/vegan is a lifestyle choice and they are not required by law to label it as such.

      Like

  4. Laurie Loveridge says:

    Carmine (/ˈkɑːrmɪn/ or /ˈkɑːrmaɪn/), also called cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine lake, natural red 4, C.I. 75470, or E120, is a pigment of a bright-red color obtained from the aluminium salt of carminic acid; it is also a general term for a particularly deep-red color.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: