Sweet Freedom Choc Shot Liquid Hot Chocolate

Today we are reviewing

image

Sweet Freefrom Choc Shot
This was the object I was most looking forward to reviewing from my Co-op Haul having heard it praised on many a vegan/freefrom site. Did it live up to my excitement? No. Not at all.


What is it?
Dairy-free liquid hot chocolate syrup
3-4tsp in hot (non dairy) milk
Or put on icecream, toast, chia pudding etc.
We tried it as hot choc and on dairy-free icecream.

Free from:
Dairy
Gluten
Wheat
Egg
Soya
Honey
GMIs

image

Thus suitable for:
Vegans
Vegetarians
Coeliacs
Allergy/intolerance sufferers
(Also seems to be popular with weight watchers/slimming world followers)

Packaging:
Looks nice, fresh and modern
Non drip nozzle

Looks like:
A thick dark brown/black syrup
Marmite

image

Smells like:
Grass/plants
A earthy smell
Faintly of a vaguely bitter chocolate-ish something

Tastes Like:
(As above really…)
Grassy
Vegetation
Earthy
A very faint bitterness which could be construed as cocoa
My mum Nana Moosick claims it has “a funny chemical taste” which is pretty much the opposite to everything Sweet Freedom stand for.
Hubbypants maintains “it’s just so bitter”
Toddlerini refused it in every form.
It made my aunty gag.
It gave me a sore throat.

Price:
£2.99 from Co-op. I’ve seen this for £4.99+ so co-op is the place to try it.

Conclusion:
I cannot adequately express how disappointed I am in this product. Not only was the earthy, dirty, compost taste completely at odds with the rich, bitter dark choc I was expecting it actually left me with a sore throat (!!!) so I’m guessing I reacted to something. My nephew tasted it this morning and said it was “alright but he wouldn’t want the whole cup full”. Hundreds of people love this, but nope it’s not for us.

Conclusion:
1/5 – I really loved the idea but we just really, really disliked the product.

UPDATE: Sat 14th March 2015
Think I was too harsh on this product. There must be a palatable use of this….further investigation is needed this week 🙂

Thank You For The Moosick

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Sweet Freedom Choc Shot Liquid Hot Chocolate

  1. raibaker says:

    haha! very funny review – annoyingly I have already purchased this product as I was excited by it’s potential for my son who has too many food allergies. However we have not used it as every time I suggest it he says “Nooooooo! Can’t you just just make your chocolate sauce” So long may it sit in my larder unopened now! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • themoosick says:

      It had such potential. I wanted to like it, I wanted to love it, I wanted to justify the slightly “ahhhhh” worthy price. Sadly it wasn’t to be. I hope your son enjoys it more, although your chocolate sauce sounds like it will win hands down! x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Choc Shot Liquid Choc Co-op Freefrom Spaghetti I’ve never tried any of these before… […]

    Like

  3. […] my disastrous encounter with Choc Shot I was eager to try something else from my Co-op Mini Haul in the hope that something had to be […]

    Like

  4. […] Never been so divided over a product I really dislike these (OK not as much as Choc Shot) but dislike them I do. My mum however clearly disagrees and happily took the packet off me. I […]

    Like

  5. […] hot: Choc Shot Terry Pratchett’s death Co-op shopping People bragging on Facebook Car […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

