Liebster Award (I’d like to thank my mum, my husband, my daughter, my cat, my rabbit…)

Well what great news Thank You For The Moosick has been nominated (twice; simultaneously as it happens) for a Liebster Award.

image

Once by the lovely Ellie & Alex of Vegan Bungalow and once by the equally lovely Tan of Vegabetes.

The Liebster rules are:

post the award logo on your blog

link back to the person who nominated you

answer the questions set for you

nominate 10 other bloggers (preferably with less than 200 followers) and let them know they’ve been nominated

create 10 questions for your nominees

I’m going to try to combine the two noms and answer both sets of questions.

Firstly E&A’s questions

Why did you decide to start a blog?
I love eating food and I love writing, a food blog seemed the natural blend of those passions. I think some freefrom food is fantastic and some others barely deserve to be called food at all. Sometimes this needs highlighting.

Is there an ingredient you particularly love using?
My husband would say I have an unhealthy interest in chillis but I’m finding ginger is sneaking in more and more.

Do you stage your food and backdrop for your recipe photos?
No, we just take photos of what we eat. Things are quite often bright and colourful because my toddler (OK…and me) love bright colours.

Tell me something fun about you?
My hair has been pretty much every colour. It’s currently platinum blonde which is very restrained since I’m actually naturally blonde. Loads of people say the same tho don’t they? Hmm (thinks) oh yes, I have a pet aquatic snail called Clifford (he’s a vegan).

Do you eat out much?
Not really, well nowhere fancy, only child friendly places. This usually means due to my vegetarianism and dairy issues I end up having chips and salad, it’s not inspirational.

Do you cook recipes from other blogs?
Sometimes.

Aubergine. Good or Evil?
Good. But, how much can you trust any vegetable ? (insert moody music).

Is there an ingredient you’ve always wanted to try but not been able to get hold of?
I tried an amazing thick soya cream roughly five years ago and can’t it anywhere, and nobody else seems to remember it…I hope I didn’t imagine it.

What’s your favourite junk food?
Chips!!! (British fried potatoes not crisps for non Brits) mmm.

Does everyone in your household follow the same type of diet?
No, my husband eats anything but prefers to eat as blandly as he can and my daughter is encouraged to eat everything but seems to naturally prefer a vegetarian diet (OK…with alot of chocolate). She had a lot of severe reflux as a baby and we were worried she had inherited dairy problems but thankfully she dodged it.

That was fun, now for Tan’s questions:

Where do you find inspiration for your recipes?
I’ll see something online or in a book then try it, usually changing things as I go (then wonder why it doesn’t look the same as the glorious photo).

What was your first blog post about?
The aims of my blog I think.

What do you do when you’re not cooking or writing?
I look after my daughter, spend time with my husband. Care for our pets. I used to be a musician but sadly don’t get the time now.

Your favourite dish?
I really like vegetable satay.

What was your favourite food when you were a child?
Veggy burger and chips (British not American chips), and a smudge of tomato ketchup.

Favourite and most inspiring quote?
“All war represents a failure of diplomacy” – Tony Benn (British politician).

What is your favourite book and why?
I actually studied English at university so I don’t think I could actually pick. I like Thomas Hardy’s poetry. Check it out.

Do you have a favourite cooking show?
I genuinely don’t watch any :-/ I’d probably be a better cook if I did.

How much time do you spend writing your blog?
Probably too long. I usually find something to review out of what we eat everyday so…at least an hour a day.

Rice, pasta or pizza?
Vegetarian gluten-free, dairy-free pizza with pineapple, sweetcorn,  peppers, tomato and mushrooms please!

Now for my ten nominations:
(In no particular order…remember I have diverse interests)
Also I will add to this so it won’t be the full ten right now…but check them out.

Quirky Hannah – Quiltalicious
Robaby17 – Fashionista
More Than Greens – Vegetarian yummer
Help There’s a Vegan -Vegan yummer
I Absolutely Cannot Eat That – Freefrom yummer

More to follow…

My questions:

1. How did you name your blog?
2. Why start a blog rather than a Facebook page or website?
3. What website would you say you frequent the most?
4. What is your favourite food?
5. What is your favourite recipe?
6. What is your favourite animal and why?
7. When was the last time you laughed so hard your belly hurt?
8. Describe your taste in fashion.
9. Who is the pickiest eater in your family?
10. If you were a fruit what fruit would you be?

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Liebster Award (I’d like to thank my mum, my husband, my daughter, my cat, my rabbit…)

  1. Felicia says:

    haha! Love the title 🙂 Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha, that’s my favourite combination of pizza toppings too 🙂

    Like

  3. Congrats on the a\ward and thanks for nominating my blog! Also, thanks for introducing me to a bunch of great blogs. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

