Food Heaven Lemon Cheesecake

This evening we are reviewing my latest discovery

image

Food Heaven Lemon Cheesecake (free from dairy, lactose, gluten, eggs and nuts).

Food Heaven are as their website states  “a range of delectable dairy free desserts that are carefully made to put taste buds on cloud nine.” When I saw this little thing staring down at me from the Asda freefrom freezer section (singing “buy me Bex, buy me” …honest…) I actually made this noise ‘oooooow’. Cloud nine here I come!

image

For a long time I have lusted after a dairy-free cheesecake and for a long time my desires have remained unsatisfied.

I remember a well meaning friend trying to make one only for it to have the texture of a particularly offly sausage. I’m a vegetarian, sausage cake just doesn’t cut it!

image

So anyway, after defrosting (for just over the recommended 90 minutes) we were left with the above sight, yup looks like a frozen cheesecake to me. (#excited!).

image

OK so once on a plate I couldn’t get it to look as good as on the box, in fact I admit my photo makes it look quite awful. At this point we became aware that this cheesecake has quite a gelatinous consistency, if you prod it, it jiggles. It’s just not the big, dense, cheesy cheesecake I’ve been dreaming of.

image

A little downhearted but still eager I divided the cheesecake up into slices, I would have liked to have been able to smell a nice bit of lemon or cheesecake at this moment but alas no.

image

But what did it taste like ?
Well it was really nice. The base is soft and sweet and really complements the luscious lemony slurp on top. It’s not much like how I remember cheesecake but I just don’t care.

Toddler loved it, Hubbypants loved it, guest taster Nana Moosick (my mum) loved it. I loved it.

Just forget it’s supposed to be cheesecake and love it unconditionally.
This cost me £2.99 from Asda.

We give it 4/5. Yum.

Pros: freefrom loads of stuff, vegan, vegetarian, yummy

Cons: doesn’t really taste like CHEESE cake (we don’t care)

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Food Heaven Lemon Cheesecake

  1. themoosick says:

    Update:

    We gobbled up the remaining cheesecake the next day and to our delight the cheesecake had a much firmer cheesecake feel and altogether better eating experience. 5/5 after a night in the fridge!

    Bec
    X

    Like

  2. […] Block Swedish Glace Icecream Directions Hair Dye Lazy Day Tiffin 10 Acre Cheese & Onion Crisps Food Heaven Cheesecake Sainsbury’s Naans (not vegan) Kiddylicious Smoothie Melts Tesco Choc Muffin (not vegan) Goody […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

